You are here: A&S Home  /  Home  /  Past Events

Past Events

Events 2009-2010

South Asia Film Series "Fact, Film and Fiction in India's History," presented by Ezra Rashkow (Dept. of History), every Tuesday at 7:00 PM in Cabell 311.

For the full screening schedule DOC document icon DOC document icon click here (.doc, 27KB) (.doc, 27KB)

 

September 2009

Thursday, September 17, 4 PM.

"Buddhism: Equating Religion with Ethics," Hari Shankar Prasad, University of Delhi

 

September 18-19.

Literary History Workshop: Recasting Urdu-Hindi-Braj Literary Histories


Sunday, September 20, 2:30 PM.

Talk given by 2006 Nobel Peace Laureate Muhammad Yunus.

 

October 2009


Friday, October 9, 3 PM.

"Perfumed the Axe that Laid it Low: the Endangerment of Sandalwood in South Asian and Global Context," Ezra Rashkow, University of Virginia.

 

Thursday, October 15, 11:00 AM.

Tea with Brinda Bose, Delhi University



Friday, October 16, 1 PM.

"The Transnational Trials of Taslima Nasrin," Brinda Bose, Delhi University


Friday, October 23, 3 PM.

“Patterns from the Past in Modern Bhutan: Bhutan’s Evolving Presence in the Himalayan Community," John A. Ardussi, Centre Nationale de Recherche Scientifique

 

November 2009

Friday, November 20, 3:00 PM,

"19th-century Lankan Monastic Fascinations with Siam," Anne Blackburn, University of Virginia.

 

December 2009

Friday, December 4, 3 PM.

"Sufism and Syncretism in Early Indo-Islamic Literature: Mulla Da'ud's Chandayan as Exemplary Text," Richard Cohen, University of Virginia.


January 2010

Wednesday, January 27, 6 PM.

Law School Human Rights Program at Reception welcoming Rashida Manjoo--U.N. Special Rapporteur on Violence Against Women and UVA Distinguished International Fellow in Residence and Visiting Research Professor.

Friday, January 29, 3 PM.

"Person, Myth and Icon: The Visual Culture of Charisma in the Transformation of Tamil Nationalism," Preminda Jacob, University of Maryland.

 

February 2010

February 25-26.

U.S. Pakistan Relations Conference, for conference details click here

 

March 2010

Tuesday, March 2, 5 PM.

"Universal Empire: the state, heterogeneous power and hegemony in the Roman and Mughal worlds," Peter Bang, University of Copenhagen


Thursday, March 18, 6:15 PM. "Contemporary Art in Lhasa, a Visual Introduction," Ian Alsop, MacMillan Dictionary of Art.


Friday, March 19, 3 PM. "Can Changes in Inheritance Legislation Improve Female Asset Ownership? Evidence from India’s Hindu Succession Act," Aparajita Goyal, Development Research Group of the World Bank.

 

April 2010

Saturday, April 10.

Tibetan Social Business Symposium.

 

Thursday, April 15, 4 PM.

"'U.S. - India Economic Relations," Sanjay Puri, U.S.-India Political Action Committee.

 

Thursday, April 22. 4 PM,

"Permanently Impermanent: Dubai's Migrant Workers," Syed Ali, Long Island University

 

Saturday, April 24, 7 PM.

Sarod Recital by K. Sridhar in Concert (see flier here)


May 2010

Saturday, May 1, 6 PM.

Film Screening: PANCHAM UNMIXED : The Life and Work of Rahul Dev Burman, directed by Brahmanand Singh.